Does Autopilot/Full Self-Driving Transfer to Subsequent Owners?

Many privately-owned used Tesla’s already come equipped with Autopilot and in some cases even Full Self-Driving Capability. We break down what this means for prospective buyers.

In the case of a private sale, do these features transfer to subsequent owners?

The short answer is yes. If a Tesla is equipped with Autopilot and/or Full Self-Driving Capability, it will include those features for the lifetime of the car. Prospective buyers can verify these features are included by checking the Monroney sticker for the car.

(Owners are occasionally offered trials for these features, so exclusively checking the Tesla’s interface to find out if they’re activated isn’t the most reliable method.)

What about owners who added Autopilot and/or Full Self-Driving Capability after delivery?

Those features will also be active for the life of the car, and will transfer from the current owner’s Tesla account to the next owner’s account.

Verify that these features are activated by asking for a screenshot of the owner’s Tesla account that reflects that they’re active and paid for.

(The activation and use of these features is based on the options that were added at the time of purchase, or the current owner’s purchase of Autopilot and/or Full-Self Driving Capability via their Tesla account.)

Can I add Autopilot/Full-Self Driving Capability to a used Tesla?

Yes, base Autopilot and/or Full-Self-Driving Capability can be added via your Tesla account (after your used Tesla has been transferred) at current market price to supported vehicles.

All Model 3’s and Tesla models built in November 2016 and later include the hardware necessary for the newest version of Autopilot as well as the capability for Full Self-Driving.

_
The BEST place To Sell A used tesla for the MOST cash. contact@onlyusedtesla.com